For weeks Ive been reading posts about how Republicans are getting further and further away from reality. These days the GOP denies anything scientific and more often than not, straight up goes against science. For someone like me, who USED to be a republican, I am utterly shocked.

This week, I posted 3 articles on my facebook page. While this is a common practice for me, it was the content of these articles that got many to either comment, send me a facebook message, or straight up email me wondering just what I was trying to accomplish.

Ive had several people ask me when I became a liberal based on the articles I posted. (Funny how none of these people would post it as a comment and would only send me a message)

Huh?

First, I posted this article – Tennessee Rep Says Its Virtually Impossible To Contract AIDS Through Heterosexual Sex (http://www.addictinginfo.org/2012/01/26/tennessee-rep-says-its-virtually-impossible-to-contract-aids-through-heterosexual-sex/)

I seriously cannot even begin to wonder how GOP lawmaker, Sen. Stacey Campfield, can even THINK that this is true. It is true that gay people were the first to contract HIV and AIDS, they are not the only victims. AIDS is an epidemic that knows no bounds. It doesnt discriminate against anyone, including children.

And then a friend of mine posted this article that I shared – Anti-gay Pastor Claims Same Sex Marriage Will Lead to Pedophilia and Bestiality (http://www.addictinginfo.org/2012/01/27/anti-gay-pastor-claims-same-sex-marriage-will-lead-to-pedophilia-and-bestiality-video/)

And while this isnt an article about the Republicans per se, it certainly is an argument Ive heard echoed within the arguments from several conservatives. And while I dont have the statistics in front of me, almost all pedophiles are straight….not gay. And since I know how search engines work, theres no way I am going to search anything regarding bestiality. Im not even sure how one goes from arguing gay rights into making assumptions regarding bestiality, but it sure does make one wonder about the person making that argument.

And the last article I posted was this one – Oklahoma Lawmaker Wants to Ban Fetuses in Food (http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/nationnow/2012/01/oklahoma-lawmaker-ban-fetuses-food.html)

I actually posted a ‘Guess His Affiliation’ on this one. I have to say that this might actually be my favorite of the wack-a-doo articles. You see, I love conspiracy theory. Ive been known to peruse a prisonplant forum every now and again. And its absolutely hysterical that this topic has a thread dedicated to the dead baby parts in your sweetener stories. (http://forum.prisonplanet.com/index.php?topic=209653.0)

If you happen to actually go to the Children For God for Life website (http://cogforlife.org/) it looks just like every anti-science, anti-vaccine, anti-medicine, anti-government conspiracy theory website. (For crying out loud, it even uses Dr Mercola as a reference in its articles)

There are no fetal cells in your soda, your sweetener, etc. You wont consume a fetus. Look it up. And yes, there is a ‘slippery slope’ when it comes to bio-tech, but lets not confuse your fears with facts.

Yes, I said that.

The Republican Party has become a laughing stock.

And while we get a good laugh at what some of these people think and say, we also need to realize that in many parts of our country, these leaders are attempting to pass legislation based on their beliefs. Should some of these wack-a-doos pass such legislation, our children will be subject to hearing, as well as possibly believing some of these things as well.

And while I still consider myself a conservative, its really hard to see the party that once aligned with what I believed in, resort to such vasts amounts of crazy. I feel like a far left liberal compared to most of these conservatives.

What ever happened to common sense?

What ever happened to being elected by the people FOR the people?

The GOP has continued to go against what their constituents want. When you are elected to office, you are SUPPOSED to represent those that you represent, NOT what YOU personally want.

The only thing that the Republicans ARE doing, is to ensure that those who are in office, WONT get reelected, and the ones currently running for office, WONT get elected. More and more of my currently unaffiliated friends are telling me that the GOP doesnt represent what they value. As a registered Independent myself, I have to agree. And considering that there are almost double the amount of democrats to republicans, their party is in deep trouble if they believe that Independents and Unaffiliated voters will be voting for Republicans, unless this type of crazy is dealt with.

