One of the blogs I follow has recently been posting these 30 Days of Truth writing prompts. (See list here: http://hope.gr/30-days-of-truth/ ) I thought, what a great idea!

The reason you believe youre still alive today

I have to say that this subject scares the bejeezus out of me to answer. I have to say that Ive actually thought about this prior to seeing this prompt.

Back in 1995, after having a cesarean section to deliver my son,  I almost did die from a pulmonary embolism (blood clot in the lung). They believe that it may have traveled from my leg while I was pregnant.

I was rushed back to the hospital the day I came home with my newborn son. I ran an incredibly high fever and lost 6 weeks of my life.

During the course of the time that I was admitted, the doctors ran all sorts of tests. They first diagnosed me with leukemia, and then, with antiphosolipid antibody syndrome (which in my case, is related to SLE lupus). Also, during the course of the 6 weeks that I was admitted, my husband (at the time) was told that I would probably not make it. (I wont go into what behavior my now ex pulled during this time, but his actions led to our breakup)

Despite everything, I am thankful for this event.

First, it led to me being FINALLY properly diagnosed with lupus, as well as the blood clotting problems I had. Because of this, I was properly treated for issues with my health I was having and would have, and that is the reason I believe Im still alive today.

