One of the blogs I follow has recently been posting these 30 Days of Truth writing prompts. (See list here: http://hope.gr/30-days-of-truth/ ) I thought, what a great idea!

Your views on gay marriage

I will start this post by saying that Im not a big fan of marriage. I think that people do not take it serious enough.

Last year there was a post on facebook saying something along the lines of – They should make you renew your marriage license every year if you want to stay married….If you dont renew, your marriage is over….which, in all actuality, sorta sounds like a pretty good idea.

I kn0w a few happily married hetero-couples. VERY few.

I know LOTS of unmarried cohabitating couples, both hetero and not.

But the subject of gay marriage brings out alot of differing views. It also brings out the loonies who think, Wow-If they allow gays to marry each other, next thing you know, theyll be people wanting to marry their cars. Yea, ok. That makes sense….NOT

My one issue with gay marriage is this: These couples get more rights than cohabitating hetero-couples whove been together decades. And yea, Ive heard the argument –if you only get married…..So dont think youre original for thinking of that one.

Many cohabitating couples choose not to marry for various reasons. Maybe theyve been ‘burned before. Maybe theres a stigma still attached to those whove been married more than once. And if you dont know that couples reasons, you shouldnt judge them for choosing not to get married.

But, to get back to the subject at hand….gay marriage.

Unlike some people I know, I dont have the ‘but what if they break up’ issue. Marriages fail….Relationships fail. Theres no guarantee for anyone.

And for those who cant fathom the ‘you cant help who you love’ line of thinking, do you ever remember someone you were with that your family didnt approve of? I dont think my family liked any guy I dated-do you think their minds would have been changed had I been gay?

We all need to get out of other peoples bedrooms and out of their business.

We live in a society where not everyone is going to agree. People will do what they want to do. People are going to love who they are going to love, whether you like it or not. And if allowing a gay couple to get married seems like the worse thing ever, you apparently do not watch the news.

And heres a question you need to ask yourself – What if it were YOUR child who was gay and in a long term relationship wanting to get married?

