One of the blogs I follow has recently been posting these 30 Days of Truth writing prompts. (See list here: http://hope.gr/30-days-of-truth/ ) I thought, what a great idea!

Someone you didnt want to let go, but just drifted

There are three people that fit into this category. Crys, Cathy, and Joey. I know them both from back in my Skateland days.

I met Crystal when my day was sent to turn Rosedale Skateland around when I was 8 or 9 years old. She even had her dad bring her to Putty Hill Skateland when my dad was sent to that rink. We talked to each other everyday until we were about 16. Our lives went separate ways and thanks to facebook, we reconnected after close to 25 years.

Cathy and I met when my father was sent to the Putty Hill Skateland. We used to write each letters the size of novels and spend the first part of the Saturday skate reading each others letters. We talked almost everyday on the phone, but we lost touch when I was 16 or 17. I cant remember what her last name was, so looking her up online isnt an option. Besides…..if she got married, that would have changed. Id love to know what happened to her.

Now Joey…..What a clown he was! He used to drive all the girls crazy. He was just absolutely adorable. I originally met him at the Rosedale Skateland – and then he followed us to Putty Hill when we got sent up there. I would love to know what happened to him and the type of guy he turned out to be (and of course, see if he can still dance and skate). If anyone who knows who Im talking about knows what happened to him, send me a message.

Its funny how you can be so close to someone for so long and just drift away from them like this. And even if I never find out what happened to Cathy or Joey, I know that they were put in my life at that time for many reasons.

