I am known to surf the web, and I blog about things that catch my eye….This story is no exception. I didnt blog on this yesterday when I saw it, because I needed to think of a way to phrase my words. Those who know me, realize that sometimes what I say can be misconstrued…..so, anyway, if you havent read the above linked story (which is linked thru the blog title) Heres the jist:  http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D9BBNUJ80&show_article=1

A Louisianna justice of the peace refused to marry an interracial couple. He claims that interracial marriages dont last and is concerned for the children involved.

MY TAKE: My first thought is this dude is off his rocker…I still think this, but for totally different reasons. If this is truly is thought, why is he marrying anyone? Isnt the statistic 50% of all marriages end in divorce? If the concern is truly for this reason, he needs to be in another line of work.

Yes, it is a sad fact that marriages end. And yes, it is sad that sometimes children are damaged by divorce.

However, by denying this couple from getting married, he shows his racism. His concerns are no more founded than this simple fact.

QUOTE:
Bardwell said he has discussed the topic with blacks and whites, along with witnessing some interracial marriages. He came to the conclusion that most of black society does not readily accept offspring of such relationships, and neither does white society, he said. END QUOTE

“I don’t do interracial marriages because I don’t want to put children in a situation they didn’t bring on themselves,” Bardwell said. “In my heart, I feel the children will later suffer.”

Uh….WHAT!!!!! Alot of children are made to suffer and they are products of -for a lack of a better term- traditional marriages. Im sure my children would say that they “suffered” because we werent well off, or that I was too young….you name it.

I know several interracial couples and most have children. Now, I aint saying that there arent some ignorant people, but for the most part, his reasoning just dont make sense.

This justice of the peace has broken the law by denying this couple their right to get married. Even if you personally dont like the idea, it is NOT against the law.

The article goes on to say that they are looking into filing a discrimination suit. GOOD-and I hope they win.

