So, most of you may know I am smack dab in the middle of a horrid lupus flare. And while I do not want to turn my blog into a woe-is-me-I-have-lupus pity party…I feel the need to revisit the YOU DONT LOOK SICK topic.

So, last week I fought off some major brain-fog – an inability to concentrate. Most of the time, this occurs when doctors mess with my dosage on the meds.

Some of you may be aware of the heat and humidity that “finally” moved in on the Baltimore area, but its generally not a good thing for those suffering from lupus to begin with….let alone someone flaring. I went to the races and completely wore myself out, which – most likely did NOT help!

On Sunday, we went to dinner and came home-well, I did stop by one of the thundercar drivers house that I see at Lincoln…So later that night, I start to really feel the joint pain, the muscle pain and the general fatigue. By Monday morning, I completely feel like an alien has taken over my body. It is now Thursday and it has NOT gotten any better.

Truthfully and honestly, I just want to stay in bed. I just want to scream and cry.
Get the picture?

However, many people rely on me, so that is not an option. So, I go and take care of business. Im not going to complain about that.

My CHIEF complaint is still those who look at me and say…”What’s wrong with you?”
(This after having to walk gingerly because of joint and muscle pain)

HELLO? Lupus flare? Its like people hear you tell them this, but forget almost instantaneously. A flare normally isnt over within a day…and mine has gone on since mid June. Thats almost 2 months that Ive been flaring.

Just because I choose to smile, be happy and say positive things (most of the time) does NOT mean my flare is over. It just means that I have chosen to think positive and try not to let my illness get me down.

So before you say something rude to someone (especially those with invisible illnesses) think. And, another thing – just because you know someone else who has lupus, dont think our illnesses act the same way, because more than likely, our symptoms might be totally opposite from each other.

