First, congratulations to all of you who made it thru the Lingering Paperwork Project so far. A shopping list will be coming – and we will be revisiting that topic on the 16th.

Today, we will be discussing your Favorites folder. Dont look at me like that!
This is a subject very near and dear to my heart (remember the “good ole days” of AOL?).

I, for one, have to admit – that I am a Favorites collector.

There! Ive said it! Whew-I feel much better….well, not really-I have a ton of links I cant find! Since we all fall short on time, and cant get to everything we see, we are known for saving it to your favorites for “later” (which, have you noticed NEVER comes?)

I even thought I was doing good- I made a “To Look at ASAP” folder to put em in. Do you know how funny that was? If, nothing else, I made THAT folder overflow to the point IT scrolled a few times.

Well, it doesnt take long for that to get old. I decided one day to go thru my Favorites and clean them out! I wasnt even setting out to ultra-organize them-that sorta just happened naturally.

HERE WE GO….
First, make sure that you have an internet connection and have some time (this depends on how many sites you have saved).

PUT THE TOP DOWN
Now, I recommend starting from the top-so you dont lose your place. This is for those of us who are compulsive savers!

Click on the first site you have saved….if the link doesnt go anywhere (you get a page removed error) you can delete this now.

YOU HAVE THE POWER!!
Go back into your “Faves”
Right click that site
Select delete.
Thats ONE down!

FEELS GOOD – DOESNT IT?
Alright, it might not feel good to do JUST one…thats why you keep going!

SOMETIMES SHORTER IS BETTER!
Yep, you heard it here! It pays to be short.

Do you have sites saved where the name just goes on and you cant even tell what it really is for? Well, this next little tip will shorten that name in no time!

WHATS YOUR NAME AGAIN?
First-click on the site. Once you see what the page is, go back into it in your Favorites, right click and select rename, type what you want it called-hit enter.

DONT DESPAIR!
Sometimes, your site will put itself at the end of your list-so if you go click on your Favorites again, it may look like it has disappeared. Remember this later, so you dont think you saved it twice and delete it.

FILE ON THE FLY
Even better – you can organize it right there, on the spot.
Now, I tend to save it to the folder as I am renaming, but that may be a little advanced for some of you. So heres a crash course….

Instead of renaming the file by right clicking it, you can re-add it and organize at the same time. Say your next site saved, needs to have its Name and location changed.

Well, just click on it to bring the site up. Check it out and choose what your gonna call it. (Example: http://www.lincolnspeedway.com is Named Lincoln in my Favorites)

So, you click on: Favorites > Add to Favorites
In the box that pops up- Type chosen Name
Then decide whether or not you have a folder already for it (just navigate to it)
Or will you make a new folder?

Once you have decided where to place the site, you will need to delete the original site saved. Now, just repeat this process along with deleting the “dead” links.

SERIOUSLY, A BREAK ALREADY
If I havent done this in awhile, I will set a time limit between breaks. This time will vary due to physical limitations and other obligations.

BORING!
Since this is a dull process and you really shouldnt surf these sites as you are going thru them – watching tv or listening to the radio really helps with passing some of the time.

YEP, IM DOING THIS WITH YA
I estimate that it will take me approximately 2 1/2 hours to effectively organize and go thru all of my favorites. Luckily, I weaned them down last summer so I really have a thinned down list.

But you know how it goes….save a site here, save a site there.

GO THE EXTRA STEP
For an added bonus…you could alphabetize them by name by dragging them in order. However, Ive been told that Im the only person they know who does this! (If theres anyone else out there who does this, please let me know)

DONT WORRY
If you dont get thru them all tonight, choose a time each week to devote at least 15 minutes to going thru all of your Favorites. Its a chore that is always ready to do!

Keep posted! More tips on the way!

