Umm-what is Baltimore County Schools saying?

I understand why Baltimore County is instituting a policy that was already in place. No matter what this article states, when I lived in Baltimore County (until Dec 07) I had to prove residency EVERY year.

My children are 5 1/2 years apart. So while one was in Middle, the other was in Elementary–

EVERY year, I had to take my ID, a bill with my name, and other evidence to prove I lived two streets from both schools. When my younger child came to the same middle school (my daughter was in high school) I had to prove I still lived in that house. I even had to prove residency at the high school every year until she graduated in 07.

This was a huge problem one year-they sent a residency officer to my home (an auditing check, so they claim). This officer for the school system strolled through my home to see if I, and my two children really lived there. I was inconvenienced because I had to go into work late and lose money…when every year, I submitted the exact same requirements.

Until my daughter went to high school (where she caught the bus right down the street from our house)-both of my children were walkers. To follow them home, would lead a block and a half to our home.

Now I live in Carroll County. I had to prove where I lived, especially since I moved in the middle of the school year, but this year…..I did not have to take time out of work to re-prove where I lived.

