It’s been awhile since I have blogged, but I did not want to just rant – however, it seems inevitable….

I cannot express my disappointment in the voters of the state of MD. An article in today’s Sun Paper even touches on some fears for the constituents of our state….

“State senators-elect urge $1 cigarette tax hike
Incoming legislators hope new Democratic administration will OK increase

Now this may be fine with some of you out there, but if this passes, what will be next? Will they increase taxes on liquors? That may also be fine with some of you, but there are other ways to increase revenue in our state….like LIVING WITHIN YOUR MEANS!!!

We have lived within our means for the past 4 years. Instead of adding programs – why don’t we look into how much money is being spent unnecessarily? In my house, if we don’t have the money, we don’t buy it….PERIOD!

For once, I would like to see programs currently in use improved or even stopped if they are not working – not new ones implemented. I do not want my tax dollars used for abortions, embryonic stem cell research, or to fund illegal aliens.

By Jennifer Skalka
Sun Reporter
Originally published November 20, 2006, 12:53 PM EST

Though proposed tobacco tax increases have stalled in the General Assembly in recent years, a coalition of nine newly elected state senators is leading the push for a $1-a-pack hike — a move they hope will win the support of the incoming Democratic administration.”Where there’s a will there’s a way, and I’m here to tell you there are nine new senators, at least, who have that will,” Sen.-elect Michael Lenett, a Montgomery County Democrat, said yesterday during the Baltimore kick-off of the Healthy Maryland Initiative.

Surrounded by labor and health care interest group leaders, Vincent DeMarco, president of the Maryland Citizens’ Health Initiative, said voters spoke this month by electing candidates who made health care a priority on the campaign trail. He said the $1-per-pack tax would help expand access to health care for 60,000 state residents and prevent up to 50,000 teenagers from smoking. The increase is supported by incoming state Comptroller Peter Franchot and Attorney General-elect Douglas Gansler. Outgoing Republican Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. did not support a similar proposal. State lawmakers last raised the tax — and Democratic Gov. Parris N. Glendening signed off — in 2002. ”

Of course, the voters in this state obviously do not pay attention. Granted democrats outnumber republicans, but I was sure that the records of those running for office is this election would be looked at – Apparently from the results of this election, it does not matter if someone cannot perform in their current position.

Certain campaign ads contained blatent lies….I will give you one of my favorite lies-
Bob Ehrlich raised college tuition rates.
I am very sorry but NO GOVERNOR raises college tuition. The Board of Regents determines this. Even under Former Gov. Glendenning’s administration, we saw tuition rates rise – did anyone blame him?

Many voters saw these ads and beleived them and it is unfortunate that they did. I will be keeping my eyes open during the next 4 years, and I hope that the democrats proove me wrong. Just remember when you start complaining, ask yourself – Who did I vote for?

